Adapted from: “The Philifant” 2001. Phil L. Herold. © Copyright Phil L. Herold. All rights reserved. 

Join the Biogen symposium

at the WMS 2021 Virtual Congress

The 26th Congress of the World Muscle Society will be taking place as a live virtual event on 20–24 September, 2021.

We at Biogen are delighted to announce we will be hosting a virtual symposium at WMS 2021.

We invite you to join us for a session featuring world-leading researchers and clinicians sharing the latest knowledge on nerve and muscle biomarkers that help map the progression of each patient’s unique journey with SMA and ALS. 

You will then have the opportunity to ask questions and share your views during the live Q&A and faculty discussion. 

We look forward to seeing you there!

Symposium

Biomarkers of nerve and muscle changes in SMA and ALS

Monday 20 September 2021

19:00–20:30 BST  | 20:00–21:30 CEST  | 14:00–15:30 EDT

Faculty

Matthew Kiernan

AM, MBBS, PhD, DSc, FRACP, FAHMS (Chair)

University of Sydney and Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney, NSW, Australia

Charlotte Sumner

MD

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD, USA

Philip Van Damme

MD, PhD

University Hospitals Leuven, Leuven, Belgium

René Günther

Dr. Med.

Technische Universität Dresden (TUD), Dresden, Germany

AGENDA

Welcome and opening

Nerve: Neurofilaments in SMA and ALS

Muscle: Creatine kinase and creatinine in adult SMA

Live Q&A

Disease-specific biomarkers:

  • SMN protein deficiency in SMA
  • Toxic protein accumulation in ALS

Live Q&A

Closing remarks

PLEASE REGISTER FOR WMS IF YOU WISH TO LEARN MORE

I would like to be contacted by a Biogen country representative

I would like to receive email updates about developments in SMA

These symposium presentations are organised and funded by Biogen.

These presentations have been approved by the programme committee as independent activities held in conjunction with WMS 2021. These presentations are not sponsored or endorsed by WMS 2021.